Skip to content

The New Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification

Bottom Line Up Front: The military has new cybersecurity rules, and all companies must get certified.

The New Certification

As the Federal Government goes into the Cloud and shifts its entire IT infrastructure, the HUGE concern is cybersecurity. After all, the whole military is about to put all their stuff on Wi-Fi; who wouldn’t be concerned about bad guys hacking that?

This new thing is known as the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC), and it’s run by the Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition & Sustainment. Those are the folks in charge of buying everything for the military.

Is It Difficult?

They are trying super hard to make it as easy and turn-key as they possibly can. If you read their web page, they are bending over backwards to create as many plug-and-play, easy-to-install things so it’s as easy and non-disruptive as possible. They will walk you through the process and help get you on your way.

The intent is to make things easy for businesses, not difficult, so they are working overtime to make it as simple as can be.

For A Bit More Background

You can read this very good article on the CMMC: